Do you leave your children in the car while going about your business? Do you take the keys? Do you lock the doors? In some states, it doesn’t matter.
Depending on where you live, it could result in criminal charges being filed. Eleven states have laws against leaving kids in cars, and seven have legislation pending. Four states make it a criminal offense if the child dies or is injured.
In November, an Amber Alert was issued across North Carolina for a missing 2-year-old girl, who was inside a vehicle that apparently was stolen from a convenience store Monday in eastern North Carolina. Amy Elizabeth Calvin, her mother, has been arrested and charged with misdemeanor child abuse.
Around 2:30 p.m. on Monday a man stole an SUV from the Kangaroo gas station on Wake Forest Road with 3-year-old Jamyah Leilan Jones still inside, triggering an Amber Alert.
“I left her in the car when I went to get gas, but I took my keys with me, and I parked close by so I could see her in the car,” concerned mother Kosha Watson said.
Read more about parents leaving their child in a car.